Unrecognized tag in FEBio 3.0.0

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • cberggren
    Junior Member
    • Jan 2020
    • 20

    Unrecognized tag in FEBio 3.0.0

    Good afternoon,

    I have a job that runs in FEBio 2.9.1 (file is attached), but not FEBio 3.0.0. The error message that I am getting says that the tag "theta" is unrecognized in my material description Error message.png.

    Did a tag change, or did I incorrectly define my material?

    Thanks in advance!

    Caleb
    Attached Files
  • maas
    Lead Code Developer
    • Nov 2007
    • 3400

    #2
    Hi Caleb,

    In FEBio3 these parameters are no longer defined since material orientation is set via mat_axis or fiber. You can use this alternative syntax, which should also work with FEBio2.

    Code:
    	<solid type="fiber-exp-pow-uncoupled">
    		<alpha>8.21</alpha>
    		<beta>2</beta>
    		<ksi>21.6</ksi>
    		<k>21600</k>
    		<mat_axis type="angles">
    			<theta>20.61</theta>
    			<phi>90</phi>
    		</mat_axis>
    	</solid>
    Cheers,

    Steve
    Department of Bioengineering, University of Utah
    Scientific Computing and Imaging institute, University of Utah

    Comment

    • cberggren
      Junior Member
      • Jan 2020
      • 20

      #3
      Awesome, that works great. Thank you so much!

      One note, the data I'm writing to a logfile is now being written to the terminal screen in FEBio 3. Is this another syntax change that I need to implement? Here's an example of the command I'm using:

      Code:
      		
      <logfile>
      		<element_data data="s1;s2;s3"> </element_data>
      		<element_data data="E1;E2;E3"> </element_data>			
      </logfile>
      Thanks,

      Caleb

      Comment

      • crandallc
        Junior Member
        • May 2020
        • 7

        #4
        Hello,

        If I am having this same error in the beta FEBio studio - how can I edit the .feb file from within the studio to include the material axis?

        Thank you.
        Christie

        Comment

        • maas
          Lead Code Developer
          • Nov 2007
          • 3400

          #5
          Hi Christie,

          When you locate the material in the Model tree, there should be an option in the properties panel to set the material axes, or for some materials, the "fiber generator". Let me know if you don't see that. There was a version at some point that had some problems showing these options. I can send you our current development version.

          Cheers,

          Steve
          Department of Bioengineering, University of Utah
          Scientific Computing and Imaging institute, University of Utah

          Comment

          • maas
            Lead Code Developer
            • Nov 2007
            • 3400

            #6
            Hi Caleb,

            Using that syntax, the data should be written to the terminal screen and the logfile. In the logfile, you should be able to find it after the convergence information for each time step. Let me know if that is not the case.

            Cheers,

            Steve
            Department of Bioengineering, University of Utah
            Scientific Computing and Imaging institute, University of Utah

            Comment

            • cberggren
              Junior Member
              • Jan 2020
              • 20

              #7
              Hi Steve!

              Thanks for the reply. The data is indeed written to the log file.

              Is it possible to not print the element data to the terminal screen while still printing to the log file in FEBio 3.0.0? Printing to the terminal screen seems to result in a significant time increase, and this seems to only occur in FEBio 3.0.0 and not 2.9.1. I attached an image of the run times for a small test job in v2.9.1 and v3.0.0 with and with out printing to the log file.

              Annotation 2020-06-03 113314.png

              Have a great one,

              Caleb

              Comment

              • maas
                Lead Code Developer
                • Nov 2007
                • 3400

                #8
                Hi Caleb,

                In FEBio3, anything that goes in the log file will be shown on screen as well. I recommend not writing data to the log file and instead write it to a separate file. You can do this using the "file" attribute:
                Code:
                <node_data file="data.txt" data="x;y;z"/>
                Please give that a try and let me know if that worked.

                Cheers,

                Steve
                Department of Bioengineering, University of Utah
                Scientific Computing and Imaging institute, University of Utah

                Comment

                • cberggren
                  Junior Member
                  • Jan 2020
                  • 20

                  #9
                  Good morning Steve,

                  That resolved the speed issue when printing data for each step, so thank you!

                  However, not all of the requested data is output to the specified .txt file at each step. Additionally, the number of elements/nodes for which the data is output seems to change for each step. Was there a command that I missed? Here is the code I used:

                  Code:
                  		<logfile>		
                  			<node_data file = "VGV_FEBio3.0.0_printTXT_data.txt" data="x;y;z" name = "node coord"> </node_data>
                  			<element_data file = "VGV_FEBio3.0.0_printTXT_data.txt" data="x;y;z" name="el coord"> </element_data>
                  			<element_data file = "VGV_FEBio3.0.0_printTXT_data.txt" data="sx;sy;sz;sxy;syz;sxz"> </element_data>
                  			<element_data file = "VGV_FEBio3.0.0_printTXT_data.txt" data="s1;s2;s3"> </element_data>
                  			<element_data file = "VGV_FEBio3.0.0_printTXT_data.txt" data="Ex;Ey;Ez;Exy;Eyz;Exz"> </element_data>
                  			<element_data file = "VGV_FEBio3.0.0_printTXT_data.txt" data="E1;E2;E3"> </element_data>			
                  		</logfile>
                  Thanks,

                  Caleb

                  Comment

                  • maas
                    Lead Code Developer
                    • Nov 2007
                    • 3400

                    #10
                    Hi Caleb,

                    You have to use a different file for each data section. At least, that's the assumption that is made in the code. I don't know what will happen if you use the same file, but it does not surprise me that it doesn't work. I suspect that the different data sections are overwriting each other's data.

                    Cheers,

                    Steve
                    Department of Bioengineering, University of Utah
                    Scientific Computing and Imaging institute, University of Utah

                    Comment

                    • cberggren
                      Junior Member
                      • Jan 2020
                      • 20

                      #11
                      Writing to different files for each variable did indeed fix the issue. While writing to one file, it did look like some lines were being overwritten. Thanks for the help!

                      Comment

                      Working...
                      X
                      😀
                      😂
                      🥰
                      😘
                      🤢
                      😎
                      😞
                      😡
                      👍
                      👎