• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • mariza_unizar
    • Feb 2015

Compilation of plugins in Linux

Hi there,

I'm trying to recompile the Neo-Hookean plugin from the web in my Linux machine (Ubuntu 18.04) in order to learn how to do it. In principle, it seems to be compiling, but the shared library is ~ 30 kB (while the one provided in /bin is ~ 2.2 MB). I'm using g++ (I tried with gcc too), with the flags suggested in the developer's manual

g++ -Wall -fPIC -c FENeoHookeanPI.cpp -I/home/xx/opt_local/febio-2.8.0-sdk/sdk/include
    g++ -shared -Wl,-soname,libtest-ma.so -o libtest-ma.so FENeoHookeanPI.o

I also tried to specifically point to the libraries under /home/xx/opt_local/febio-2.8.0-sdk/sdk/lib... but still nothing.

Any suggestion? Is there any IDE that could help with this? (I tried with CLion but I have little experience with CMake).

Thanks in advance!

MA
  • mherron
    Developer
    • Aug 2016

Hi, sorry that it took a bit of time to get back to you on this issue. I was just able to get this to compile using the GNU compiler. The fact that your shared library is so small is definitely because you're not getting the static libraries from the SDK linked into it properly. This won't throw any errors at compile time, but if you try to import your library into FEBio, it'll complain about having undefined symbols.

This is what I used to get this to compile correctly:

g++ -fPIC -shared -o NeoHookeanPi.so *.cpp *.h -I/path/to/febio-2.8.0-sdk/sdk/include/ -L/path/to/febio-2.8.0-sdk/sdk/lib/ -lfebiomech_gcc64 -lfecore_gcc64

I'm not sure how familiar you are with compiling C code, so here's a breakdown of that command. Feel free to skip this if it all makes sense to you already, though I would encourage you to start reading again at the bolded line below if you do skip some of this.

The -fPIC and -shared flags are simply necessary to create a shared library.