X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • cgardner
    • Nov 2009

Compression Simulation

Hi! I'm an undergraduate student at Rutgers currently working with a group on a project, and we would like to use FEM to test some of our methods, but are running into difficulties with this package:

What we would like to simulate is compression of a soft cylinder between two plates. I've constructed this model in the attached file. I've set (what I believe are) appropriate materials on everything, and have constrained one of the plates while applying a pressure force on the other. I also constrained the nodes along the bottom of both plates to keep them from moving in the z-direction. Whenever I try to evaluate it however (and I've tried a lot of different things), the very first element generates a negative jacobian.

Now, I've never used anything like FEM before, and I have very little experience even in 3-d modeling, so I'm aware there's probably a lot of stuff I'm not accounting for. I understand everything about defining the elements and setting boundary conditions and all that, but I'm having some trouble grasping exactly what it is I need to do to even compress a cylinder like this - I've gone through the examples, but I can't figure out what it is I'm doing wrong.

Any help would be enormously appreciated!

PS - In addition to compressing the cylinder, is it possible to construct a soft object with a stiff object buried inside of it? I'm not sure how to go about this in PreView, other than creating the stiff object and simply dragging it down into the middle of the soft object - though I don't know if that's acceptable.

edit - sorry about that, file's the .feb now
    Last edited by cgardner; 11-12-2009, 10:42 PM.
  • maas
    Lead Code Developer
    • Nov 2007

Hi,

Can you please attach the .feb file instead of the .prv file.

Thanks,

Steve.
    Department of Bioengineering, University of Utah
    Scientific Computing and Imaging institute, University of Utah